AHL has a start date for the 2020-21 season – NHL Sports

AHL: AHL announced that the 2020-21 season will begin on February 5th and will consist of 28 teams in 5 divisions.

Charlotte Checker, Milwaukee Admirals and Springfield Thunderbird will not play this season.

Four teams will relocate for the season. Binhamp Tomu Devil’s in New Ark, Ontario will move to El Segundo, California, Providence Bruins will move to Marlborough, Massachusetts, and San Diego Gulls will move to Irvine, California.

Frank Ceravari: NHL and CHL work well, but if junior hockey doesn’t go again, junior players will be able to play in AHL this season.

Draft players cannot play. Players must be 18 years old by September 15th.

Frank Ceravari: The AHL schedule has not yet been decided. At least 24 games are played per team, and schedule lengths can vary from department to department.

The Pacific Division is watching 38 to 42 games. Other divisions range from 24 to 40 games.

David Dowork: Charlotte Panthers GM Bilgit of Charlotte’s AHL team opting out this season:

“We have worked closely with the Charlotte Checkers Organization to decide together to opt out of playing in Charlotte in 2020-21.

“We had travel and business challenges this year, but we feel that this decision will not affect our player development system as we continue to provide the environment we need to grow.”

– NHL Sports

AHL has a start date for the 2020-21 season AHL has a start date for the 2020-21 season

Back to top button