Al-Attiyah, the fastest Brabeck in the prologue – Motorsports

Al-Athiyah, who won the Dakar three times, was the fastest in the 11km time section, which set the starting order for the opening stage on Sunday, leading Toyota in 5 minutes and 48 seconds.

South Africa’s Brian Baragwanato, who returned to Dakar for the first time since winning two stages in the quadriceps in 2016, finished second with a two-wheel drive Century Racing CR6 buggy, setting the same time as Al Atya. ..

The next three spots were occupied by Toyota drivers, with Yazeed Al-Rajhi, Jakob Przygonski and Bernhard ten Brinke finishing in 3rd, 4th and 5th respectively, just 6 seconds behind.

Orlando Terra Nova is the lead mini-driver in 6th place, just 14 seconds behind Toyota in Al Atiya.

WRC Legend Sebastien Loeb, who won the Dakar Rally for the first time, made the Top 10 in the first competition of the Bahrain Raid Extreme Team run by Prodrive.

Neither of the two X-raid Mini JCW Buggies that dominated last year’s event was able to secure a top finish, with Stephane Peterhansel and Carlos Sainz finishing 14th and 28th respectively. However, both lost considerable time to Al-Atiyah, and Sainz slowed his pace by just 36 seconds, despite being hit by a puncture early in the stage.

The winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, Romain Dumas (Rebellion), took twice as long as the lead runner on his fourth start in Dakar and was ranked 63rd from the last.

Another top driver who finished the pace was Toyota’s Giniel de Villiers. He was only 18th at the end of the day.

Elsewhere, WRC Ace Kris Meeke outperformed the SxS class in PH Sports’ Dakar debut, and Searley Viazovic led Maz 1-2 in the track category.

Brabeck leads Honda 1-2 on motorcycles

# 1 Monster Energy Honda Team: Ricky Brabetsu

Photo: ASO

A year after KTM’s 18-year streak, Honda rider Brabeck broke through Saturday’s prologue in the bike category with a time of 6:01.

The American was the last biker to start the 11km special and finished 6 seconds after clearing Honda’s companion Joan Valeda. Last month, he admitted that 2021 Dakar could be the last two wheels..

Debutante Daniel Sanders was KTM’s top finisher in 3rd place, just 13 seconds behind pacesetter Brabeck, while the new Yamaha rider Ross Branch finished the second drift in 4th place.

Going back further, Sebastian Buehler was ranked 5th in the heroes. The hero has been forced to withdraw from last year after star rider Paulo Goncalves died in stage 7.

Andrew Short made two Yamahas in the top 10 in the sixth fastest time ahead of Honda’s Kevin Benavides in the prologue.

Price’s other two KTM teammates finished the pack, with 2018 winner Matthias Walker in 18th place and 2017 champion Sam Sunderland in 26th place.

In the quad, Alexander Giroud surpassed the stage one second behind Manuel Anduger, with Kamil Visinievsky finishing third.

Related Videos

– Motorsports

Al-Attiyah, the fastest Brabeck in the prologue Al-Attiyah, the fastest Brabeck in the prologue

Back to top button