Alex Palou concludes the IndyCar Championship.Colton Herta wins the Long Beach Grand Prix – Motorsports

Long Beach, CA-Smooth and stable, as in all seasons. Alex Palou A quick Sunday drive at the Grand Prix of Long Beach cruised towards his first IndyCar Championship.

The 24-year-old Spaniard became the first Spaniard to win the Indy Car Championship and finished fourth on a temporary downtown street course rolling along the waterfront of Long Beach for the second season in the United States. Won the championship.

Colton Herta Long Beach won the second consecutive victory and the third race of the season. Long Beach is considered his home track. Josef Newgarden Finished second, Scott DixonSix-time champion, after finishing in third place, handed over the IndyCar crown to Chip Ganassi Racing’s teammates.

Growing up outside Barcelona, ​​Parrow’s dream was to reach IndyCar someday. If you are lucky, you may be able to ride with Ganassi. As last year’s IndyCar Rookie, he introduced himself to Ganassi at Parrow’s first Indianapolis 500 and expressed both goals when he incorporated it into this season’s ride.

Parrow won the opening round, finishing second in the Indy 500 and moving up to 12th in 16 weeks. After climbing the European ranks, Parrow has raced in Japan for two years and hasn’t won the title since he entered the go-kart in Spain when he was a teenager.

Parrow is currently participating in the All-Star exclusive club of Ganassi’s elite “I like the winner” club.The title is the 14th of the six drivers in Ganassi’s American Open Wheel Race and came 25 years later. Jimmy Vasser Gave the organization the first championship.

Parrow joins Vasser Alex Zanardi Juan Pablo Montoya, Dario Franchitti Dixon as Ganassi’s open-wheel champion. He was the first Ganassi champion since 1999 Montoya, not called Franchitti or Dixon, and won nine titles from 2008 to last year.

Franchitti is now Ganassi’s driver coach, and Parrow is considered the best driver in 10th place as Dixon’s teammate after Franchitti retired in early 2013 due to a head injury. Parrow is the first Ganassi driver to beat Dixon in the season rankings since Franchitti.

Parrow held a 35-point lead Pato O’Ward At the start of the race, I only won the title in 11th place and above. O’Ward was knocked out 18 laps after the start, from which Parrow had to reach the finish line.


O’Ward was eliminated from the title race in just 18 laps when the drive shaft broke due to contact on the first lap of the race.

O’Ward had to spend a disastrous day for Parrow to become IndyCar’s first Mexican champion. But the 22-year-old was frustrated throughout the weekend, even though he vowed to pull all the stops to confuse the championship race.

He was dissatisfied with his car during Friday’s practice, but was furious on Saturday when IndyCar’s ruling prevented him from advancing to the final round of qualifying. This put O’Ward in 8th place at the start of the race. This was the traffic that led to the disaster on the first lap.He was spun from behind Ed Jones Just minutes from the start of the race, I finished 8th.

“This isn’t the first time he has hit us,” O’Ward said. “I wish he could use his head a little more and at least respect the men who are fighting the championship.”

When O’Ward slowed down the car on the track, Aroma Claren SP Chief Zak Brown raised his arm with disgust at the team’s timing stand.About 6 hours ago Lando Norris When a McLaren driver slipped down a Russian wet course as a late leader, he lost his chance with his first Formula One victory.

“Neither here nor in Russia, with such great expectations, it’s definitely not a great day,” Brown said. “It’s a shame that Pato was taken to a few amateur moves before the race started.”

O’Ward won two races this year, his second full season at IndyCar, and won the F1 test at McLaren in November.

“I’m proud of the team. I’m proud of myself,” O’Ward said. “I’m looking forward to next year. I think we have a great baseline to start from the beginning, win more and see if we can challenge the chances of the next title.”


Ed carpenter Racing announced 21 years old before the race Rinus Vee Kay Return to the third season. Vee Kay recorded his first career win on the Indianapolis Road Course earlier this year and followed a week later to the front row starting point of the Indianapolis 500.

The Dutch driver peaked in fourth place this year, but was unable to race due to a broken collarbone in a bicycle crash. Vee Kay hasn’t finished above 16th in seven races since he was injured.

The third season will make VeeKay the longest-serving full-time driver in ECR’s 10-year history. The team owner, Carpenter, simply runs an oval and shares the car with another driver on the road or street course.

Carpenter Conor Daly We’ll be back in that role next season, but Daily still has an ECR on his list and doesn’t expect one team to put together a full-season schedule. Ryan Hunter-Reay Mentioned as a candidate for ECR.

– Motorsports

Alex Palou concludes the IndyCar Championship.Colton Herta wins the Long Beach Grand Prix Alex Palou concludes the IndyCar Championship.Colton Herta wins the Long Beach Grand Prix

Back to top button