Science & Technology

American Physical Society Announces Fall 2021 Awards and Winners

The honor recognizes the achievements of fluid mechanics, nuclear physics, and plasma physics.

The American Physical Society (APS) has announced the association’s Fall 2021 Awards and Winners. The Fluid Mechanics Division (DFD), Nuclear Physics Division (DNP), and Plasma Physics Division (DPP) will present these awards and awards at the Autumn Annual Meeting.

With a few exceptions, APS awards and awards are open to all members of the US and international scientific communities. The nomination and selection process involving the selection committee appointed by APS guarantees its high standards and fame. These honors are highly valued and represent the critical perception of the recipient’s most discerning audience, their peers.Recipient of APS Awards and Awards It will be announced in two groups, one in spring and one in autumn.

The new winners are:

Andreas Acrivos Paper Award in Fluid Mechanics

University of Colorado at Boulder, Waihon Ronald Chan

“To develop a new theoretical and computational framework that establishes basic insights into the turbulent bubble decay cascade in ocean breaking waves.”

Stanley Kolasin Award

California Institute of Technology, Tim Colonius

“For the development, description, and combined applications of computational and modal decomposition tools for understanding the coherent structure of turbulence, and for continued leadership in aeroacoustics and turbulence.”

Fluid Mechanics Award

David Quéré, ESPCI-Paris

“For surface wetting and creative contributions to interfacial fluid dynamics by revealing the physics of phenomena through reduction to a simple core.”

Stuart Jay Friedman Award in Experimental Nuclear Physics

Johns Hopkins University Daniel H. Speller

“For the excellence of experimental research on the basic properties of matter and mass, based on low-energy cryogenic detection techniques, especially neutrino-free double beta decay and the search for dark matter.”

John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research

  • Travis Shostrom, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Fionn D. Malone, QC Wear
  • Tim Schoof, DESY
  • Simon Gross, Christian Albrecht University in Kiel
  • Tobias Dornheim, Advanced System Understanding Center (CASUS)
  • Michael Bonitz, Institute of Theoretical Physics and Astrophysics, University of Kiel
  • William Matthew Colwyn Foulkes, Imperial College London

“It leads to the first abinitio data of electron gas under warm high density material conditions to develop a Monte Carlo method that overcomes the fermion sign problem.”

James Clerk Maxwell Award for Plasma Physics

Margaret Garland Kibelson, University of California, Los Angeles: Earth, Planets, Space Science

“For groundbreaking discoveries in space plasma For an ingenious theoretical contribution to understanding physics and space plasma processes and magnetohydrodynamics. “

Marshall N. Rosen Bruce Excellent Doctoral Dissertation Award

Elizabeth Paul, Princeton University

“As a pioneer in the development of neighbor-joining methods for fusion plasmas and the application of shape calculations, it enables new derivative-based methods. Stellarator design. “

Thomas H. Sticks Award for Outstanding Early Career ContributionShon To plasma physics research

Carlos Paz-Soldan, Columbia University

“For a breakthrough contribution and scientific leadership in the understanding of axisymmetric magnetic fields and relativistic electrons in tokamak plasmas.”

American Physical Society Announces Fall 2021 Awards and Winners American Physical Society Announces Fall 2021 Awards and Winners

Back to top button