BWAA Announces 2020 Award Nominations – Boxing Sports

Lopez and his team were buried in the belt following the victory. (Photo courtesy of Mikey Williams / Top rank via Getty Images)

Given the COVID-19 pandemic and the sports and restrictions imposed around the world, this year was a strange and special year for boxing.

Boxing was still going on. The battle took place and there were several big battles featuring a great comeback and a great finish.

On Monday, the Boxing Writers Association of America (BWAA), which has existed for 94 years and selects the best boxing every year, announced the 2020 award candidates.

The BWAA will be the largest award ceremony in the organization’s long history, combining the 2020 and 2021 awards ceremonies. The organization will only offer six awards in 2020 as the year of boxing has been truncated.

BWAA has already named Katie Taylor the 2020 Female Fighter of the Year for the second year in a row. She also shares that distinction as the Ring’s two-time female fighter of the year.

Therefore, the following are candidates for the remaining five categories. Only regular BWAA members can vote.

Based on a representative victory in 2020, Tyson Fury and Theofimo Lopez Jr. are at the top of the BWAA Fighter of the Year Sugar Ray Robinson Award nominee list. Canelo Alvarez, Ring and BWAA’s No. 1 Pound for Pound Fighter were also included in the BWAA vote after dominating Callum Smith. Fury and Lopez Jr. shared the Ring’s Fighter of the Year award.

Muhammad Ali-Joe Frazier Awards BWAA Fight of the Year includes Carlos Gongora-Ali Acmedov, Juan Francisco Estrada-Carlos Cuadras II, Masayoshi Nakatani-Felix Verdejo, and Ring This year’s selection includes the classic between Jose Zepeda-Ivan Barranchik, who was in the 2020 battle of.

Winners of the BWAA Awards will be announced on Friday, January 22, 2021 and will be voted on by BWAA members who pay the full amount.

Candidates for the BWAA 2020 Awards:

Sugar Ray Robinson Award Fighter of the Year 2020

Canelo Alvarez

Gervonta Davis

Tyson fury

Theofimo Lopez Junior

Errol Spence Jr.

Joe Smith Junior

Muhammad Ali-Joe Frazier Awards 2020 Fight of the Year

Gervonta Davis-Leo Santa Cruz

Carlos Gongora-Ali Acmedov

Juan Francisco Estrada-Carlos Cuadras II

Masayoshi Nakatani-Felix Verdejo

Alexander Povetkin-Dillian Whyte

Jose Zepeda-Ivan Baranchyk

Eddie Futch Award Trainer of the Year 2020

Robert Garcia

Sugar hill

Derrick James

Theofimo Lopez Senior

Edelay Noso

Cus D’Amato Award Manager of the Year 2020

Keith Connolly

Peter Kern

David Macwater

Rick Miridian

Edelay Noso

John McCain-Bill Crawford Courage Award 2020

Magomed Abdusalamov house

Mark breland

Pritchard colon

Derrick James

Jose Santa Cruz

Joseph Santricito is an award-winning sports writer who has worked for The Ring Magazine / since October 1997 and is president of the American Boxing Writers Association.He can follow on twitter @JSantoliquito..

– Boxing Sports

BWAA Announces 2020 Award Nominations BWAA Announces 2020 Award Nominations

Back to top button