Chelsea train attractions with the first title of the Club World Cup – Soccer Sports

Abu Dhabi (AFP) – Chelsea coach Thomas Tuchel will try to lead Chelsea to more silverware and the first Club World Cup title as the seven-team match begins Thursday in Abu Dhabi.

The European Champion is aiming to jump into the UAE after playing against Plymouth in the third tier at the FA Cup on Saturday to become the third British club after Manchester United and Liverpool.

“I have to say I’m pretty excited once I get in,” Tuchel told Chelsea’s website.

“Once you don’t participate, it’s a competition that doesn’t have the highest focus and the highest value. In Europe, or to me alone, it seems like this.

“But it’s very exciting to see it coming on the horizon when you’re in it and start planning it.”

Tuchel beat Manchester City 1-0 in the Champions League final last season. Bruce then defeated Villarreal in a penalty shootout to win the UEFA Super Cup in August.

Chelsea returned to the Club World Cup for the second time in 2012 with a runner-up to Corinthians in Japan. This was the last time a non-European team won the trophy.

They will face Asian Champions League winners Al Hilal of Saudi Arabia, local Al Jazeera, or AS Piraet of Tahiti in the semifinals on February 9.

“This is a great opportunity to win a special trophy that is far from everyday work, so we do everything we can to make it happen,” Tuchel said.

– Can Palmeiras end the European run? – –

Palmeiras, one of the nine record-breaking Brazilian clubs that graced the tournament, should pose a major threat to Chelsea after defending the Copa Libertadores crown in November.

Monterey, the winner of the CONCACAF Champions League, will be participating for the fifth time. They faced African giant Al Ahli in the second round, and Palmeiras awaits victory in the final four.

Al Ahli will make his seventh appearance after winning the record tenth CAF Champions League title, but for Cairo-based clubs, the key to Egypt’s involvement in the Africa Cup of Nations. There are no players.

The latest version of the tournament, featuring six Continental Union champions and top teams from the host country, was scheduled to take place in Japan at the end of 2021 before withdrawing as the host country for Covid-19. Pandemic.

The Club World Cup is usually held in December, but this has been postponed for the second consecutive year. The 2020 edition in Qatar was held in February last year.

Oceania champion Auckland City has withdrawn for the second year in a row due to pandemic complications, with Pilau intervening to become Tahiti’s first team.

However, French Polynesian amateurs were forced to delay their departure last week after seven players and two staff members tested positive for Covid-19.

Pilley must overcome the 14-hour time difference and a journey of over 17,000km into the opening round of the tournament with Al Jazira, who finished fourth in 2017, leading Real Madrid in the semi-finals and losing 2-1. Must be.

“I want to beat Al Jazeera first, then go to the end and win the trophy. Why not? Soccer. Anything can happen,” Pilley captain Alvin Tehau told ..

Bayern Munich has won the latest edition of the Club World Cup, which has been held four times in the UAE. Most recently, it was held in 2018, when Real Madrid won the championship.

A profitable, revamped 24-team Club World Cup was scheduled to take place in China last year, including eight aspects from Europe, before the pandemic put the project on hold.

Recent Club World Cup winner

2020: Bayern Munich (GER)

2019: Liverpool (ENG)

2018: Real Madrid (ESP)

2017: Real Madrid (ESP)

2016: Real Madrid (ESP)

2015: Barcelona (ESP)

2014: Real Madrid (ESP)

2013: Bayern Munich (GER)

2012: Corinthians (BRA)

2011: Barcelona (ESP)

– Soccer Sports

Chelsea train attractions with the first title of the Club World Cup Chelsea train attractions with the first title of the Club World Cup

Back to top button