Five of the best NFC Championship games ever: “Catch”, Russell Wilson’s comeback and more – NFL Sports

Although technically not an NFC Championship Game, the Packers-Cowboys 1967 “Ice Bowl” set the standard for measuring future championship games. The game featured a few legendary players and coaches, frigid temperatures, and a spectacular finish.With just a few seconds left, quarterback Bart Starr’s sneak Packers 21-17 victories on the way to victory for the fifth and final championship under Vince Lombardi.

Three years after the packers’ iconic victory, NFL And the AFL merged with the modern NFL. The two best teams at each conference since 1970 Bouncy ball.. The Super Bowl is a classic professional football event, but the conference title game also features some of the best games in NFL history.

With that in mind, we decided to look back at the five best NFC championships. Each game is memorable, but one particular game changed regular Joe to a generic name.

Honorable Mention

2007: Giants 23, Packers 20 (OT)

In games played at sub-zero temperatures, Giants Win behind 11 receptions at Praxico Burlesque, Corey Webster Brett Favre overtime interception.Pick set a field goal to win the Lawrence Tines game as the Giants continued to confuse what was previously undefeated. Patriot With Super Bowl XLII. The bitter defeat was Favre’s last match in a Packers uniform.

5. 2014: Seahawks 28, Packers 22 (OT)

The Seahawks dragged 16-0 in half-time, reducing the deficit to 5 points. Russell Wilson A short touchdown run with 2:13 still regulated.After that, Seattle succeeded in converting the onside kick and set it up. Marshawn Lynch Gore head touchdown run.Packers managed to force overtime, Mason Crosby Seahawks punched Super Bowl tickets when Wilson hit a 48-yard field goal Jermaine Kears For a score of 35 yards in the sixth play of the extra period. Defending champion Seahawks were slightly short on their bids to repeat as champions. The Packers won the playoff game once in 2015-18 before returning to the title game in 2019-20.

In the classic championship game, neither team led more than 7 points, and the score was tied to four different opportunities.Next Viking Adrian Peterson The third touchdown that tied the game was in a position to win after reaching Saints’ 38-yard line with 19 seconds remaining regulation.But what is his last pass in the game, Ferb’s third down pass Sydney rice Was intercepted by Tracy Porter, Force overtime.Overtime has two penalties for Viking defense Pierre Thomas‘4th and 1st play 2 yard run, setup Garrett Hartley’s The field goal that won the game.New Orleans will continue to be defeated Colz Super Bowl XLIV, Porter Pick 6 Peyton Manning Seal the 31-17 wins of Saints.

3. 1998: Falcons 30, Viking 27 (OT)

In one of the most amazing turmoil in NFL post-season history, Atlanta’s “Dirty Bird” overcame a 13-point deficit and surprised Viking, who won 15 to 1 during the regular season. Gary Anderson, who did not miss a field goal during the regular season ahead of 27-20, missed a 38-yard attempt, leaving 2:07. The Falcons took full advantage of Anderson’s mistakes as Chris Chandler played against Terence Matisse and touched down with 57 seconds remaining in regulation.

After winning the coin toss, Minnesota was forced to punt after Randy Moss, the third down pass to Randall Cunningham’s rookie sensation, was incomplete. The team then swapped punts before Chandler completed two runs to tight-end OJ Santiago, where Jamal Anderson ran twice and set a 38-yard kick that won the Morton Anderson match. .. But Falcons’ luck was exhausted in the Super Bowl.With John Elway Broncos I coasted to the victory of 34-19. The Vikings are still looking for their first trip to the Super Bowl since January 1977.

2. 1990: Giants 15 49ers 13

“There is no sleepy.”

These words were proclaimed by former CBS / Fox commentary analyst Pat Summerall after Matt Barr’s 42-yard field goal confused the Giants with two-time champion 49ers. .. One of the most physical football games ever played, when Giants lineman Leonard Marshall knocked out Joe Montana with about 10 minutes remaining and the 49ers opened the scoring 13-9. The 49ers were devastated. After the Giants reduced the deficit to one point, Lawrence Taylor returned the ball to the attack when he regained the fumble in the Giants territory of the 49ers halfback Roger Craig.

Jeff Hostetler’s finish to Mark Bavaro and Stephen Baker and Ottis Anderson’s crucial two-yard run in third-and-one play scored a field goal in Barr’s game when the time was up. Helped to set.The hostel, Anderson, Barr, and Giants’ physical defenses each played a role in the Giants’ upset victory. Bill In Super Bowl XXV. The defeat was Montana’s final playoff start with the 49ers. The 49ers had a hard time becoming the first team in history to win three Super Bowls in a row.

1. 1981: 49ers 28, Cowboys 27

Despite the dominant victory over the Cowboys in the sixth week, the 49ers fell six points below the “American team” following a 21-yard touchdown pass to Danny White’s Doug Cosby. The Forty-niners had to travel 89 yards within 5 minutes, relying on Renville Elliott’s several sweeps, Freddie Solomon’s two clutch catches of traffic, and Solomon’s 14-yard reverse run. .. Faced with a third down on the Cowboys 6-yard line, Montana rolled shortly before meeting the three Cowboys defenders. In the face of Pass Rush, Montana lofted the ball to a spot in the end zone where Dwight Clark wanted to be. Clark, who caught a 20-yard touchdown pass early in the game, was actually where Montana wanted. A reliable receiver jumped into the air, cursed Montana’s pass from the sky and hit the ball in the end zone.

The 49ers’ defense had to stop the Cowboys’ attack, as Candlestick Park was already in festive mode. The Cowboys returned the ball to the 25-yard line with two time-outs and 51 seconds remaining. The crowd was tense after White hit Drew Pearson 31 yards in the Cowboys’ first play. However, in the next play, White lost the ball after being hit by Lawrence Pillars. The ball was scooped up by Jim Stacky. Jim Stacky had the 49ers’ first Super Bowl ticket in his arms.

Cowboys defensive end Ed “too expensive” Jones told Montana, as Clark remembered 20 years later. “Well,” Montana replied, “You can sit home and see the supermarket with the rest of the United States.” bowl. ”

This defeat was the Cowboys’ second consecutive defeat in the NFC title game. The victory marked the beginning of the 49ers dynasty. San Francisco won five Super Bowls, including four in the 1980s.

– NFL Sports

Five of the best NFC Championship games ever: “Catch”, Russell Wilson’s comeback and more Five of the best NFC Championship games ever: “Catch”, Russell Wilson’s comeback and more

Back to top button