How to find a master winner – GOLF Sports

How can I find the winner of the Masters?In this work, we’ll look at some important trends from recent winners.

How to find a master winner

Of all four majors Masters Without a doubt, it’s easiest to pick a winner on the same course and in a limited field each year.

But how can you find the winner of the Masters?

How to Find a Master Winner – Key Trends

Reasonably priced and does not rust

Since 2011, Masters winners have posted T5 and above in the same calendar year, with Sergio Garcia, Danny Willett, Jordan Spieth, Bubba Watson and Charles Waltztel all winning. Dustin Johnson was in great shape before winning the Masters in November 2020, winning the FedEx Cup and Travelers Championship a few months ago.

Not a defending champion

Spiece would have done his job in 2016. His collapse on the 12thHowever, Willett’s victory meant that no one had defended the green jacket since Tiger Woods from 2001 to 2002. That trend continues. Prior to Woods, only Sir Nick Faldo (1989-1990) and Jack Nicklaus (1965-1966) achieved great feats. Will DJs be back to back? According to statistics, this is probably not the case.

Not ranked number one in the world

Dustin Johnson In 2020, it was the only world No. 1 to win the Masters since Tiger Woods in 2002. Angel Cabrera (69th in 2009), Zach Johnson (56th in 2007), Trevor Immelman (29th in 2008) and others have proved here. The value you have when you bet further down the field.

Not a newcomer

Fuzzy Zoeller in 1979 is the only rookie to win the Masters since the second tournament … The odds of a rookie winning are very low.

Not a European or Asian player

Garcia and Willett in 2017 and 2016 are the only European winners since Jose Maria Orazabal in 1999, and as far as the trendbook is concerned, it’s unlikely to happen again soon. YE Yang is the only player from Asia who has yet won a major, and no one from that continent has won a master, so for this discussion we will exclude players from both of these continents.

Not over 40

In the last decade or so, Tiger Woods has only worn a green jacket over the age of 40. Mickelson in 2010 and Cabrera in 2009 (both 39) were the oldest except Woods in recent years, but Reed, Willett, Spice, Schwartzel and Immelmann were all under the age of 28. The average Masters winner tends to be around 30-32.

I made a cut in the previous year

This one stat doesn’t work because Patrick Reed missed a cut in 2017 before winning in 2018. But there are many things that have worked. Danny Willett was 38th in his debut and won the following year. Meanwhile, Spice won after his second debut finish. Garcia (34th), Watson (50th), Adam Scott (8th), Watson (38th), Schwartzel (30th), Mickelson (5th), Cabrera (25th), Immelmann (55th) , Johnson (32nd) also cut everything a year before they won. DJ was T2nd the year before he won.

Candidates for this year

So who fits this year’s profile?

Bryson DeChambeau, Justin Thomas, Xander Schauffele, Patrick Cantlay, Tony Finau, etc. all look great.

– GOLF Sports

How to find a master winner How to find a master winner

Back to top button