Jan Blachowicz, Amanda Nunes Holds Title – MMA Sports

Not many people gave Jan Blawowic a lot of chances at UFC259.

However, an active UFC light heavyweight champion has entered.

Blawic made a one-sided decision at the main event from Apex in Las Vegas, preventing Israel Adesanya from becoming the title holder of the two divisions.

Using his size and skill, Brahovic prevented Adesanya from unleashing many of his trademark attacks. He swept three scorecards, two 49-45 and one 49-46.

Two-part champion Amanda Nunes didn’t want to spend extra time in the Octagon, scoring 12 consecutive victories at Megan Anderson’s finish.

Nunez defended her featherweight title by locking the triangular armbar in two minutes to beat Anderson in the joint main event.

Aljamain Sterling became the new UFC bantamweight champion when Petr Yan was disqualified for an illegal knee. Yang dominated the fourth match when he landed a strike on Sterling’s head.

The referee warned Yang that the two were fighting, but he had not heard. Instead, the champion lost his title and Sterling then said he didn’t want to win it that way.

For two rounds, Islam Makhachev dominated Drew Dober and then cleaned him up with a shoulder chalk for the third time. When Makhachev got the finish, he was on track with his scorecard, which pushed his record to 19-1 overall.

Light heavyweight Alexander Rakić kicked off the main card with a command decision against Thiago Santos. Rakitch pushed his winning streak to two, both wins against previous title candidates.

Rakitch’s only defeat since entering the Octagon came from the decision to split into another former world title challenger, Volcan Osdemir.

To conclude the qualifying, former champion Dominick Cruz showed a powerful show, beating the game Casey Kenney.

Cruz, who has only fought twice since 2016, won his first win since that year in a split decision. The “dominator” is currently 23-3 in his career.

Kyler Phillips showed off his excellent blow in stopping Song Yadong. He couldn’t finish Slowpoke, but Phillips wiped out the scorecard.

Former title candidate Joseph Benavidez was no match for Askar Askarov. Despite being underweight, Askarov dominated the three-round match and made the decision.

Undefeated in his career, Askarov won his third UFC victory and his second victory over the previous title candidate. Last year he defeated Tim Elliott by decision.

Kai Kara France did a quick job at Rogerio Bontrin and won the first round finish. Kara France caught Bontorin and stopped with only five seconds left.

27-year-old Kara France currently owns 22 career wins, five of which are in the Octagon.

Also check out the summary from the crazy early qualifying FightLine..

UFC259 results

Jan Blachowiczdef. Israel Adesanya by unanimous decision (49-46, 49-45, 49-45) to remain UFC Light Heavyweight Champion

Amanda Nunes def.Megan Anderson submits at 2:03 in Round 1 (triangular arm bar) to remain the UFC Female Featherweight Champion

Aljamain Sterling def.Petr Yan becomes the new UFC bantamweight champion via DQ (illegal knee) at 4:29 in Round 4

Islam Makhachev def.Draw Dover with submission (shoulder chalk) at 1:37 in Round 3

Alexander Rakitch def. Thiago Santos by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Dominick Cruz def. Casey Kenney by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 30-27)

Kyler Phillips def. Song Yadong (29-28, 29-28, 29-28) by unanimous decision

Askar Askarov def. Joseph Benavidez (30-27, 30-27, 30-26) by unanimous decision

Kaikara-France def.Rogerio Bontrin via TKO (Strike) at 4:55 in Round 1

Tim Elliott def. Jordan Espinosa (30-27, 30-27, 30-25) by unanimous decision

Kennedy Nzechukwudef.Carlos Wolberg via KO (strike) at 3:19 in Round 2

Shawn Brady def.Jake Matthews via submission (arm triangle choke) at 3:28 in Round 3

Amanda Remos def.Revere Renata Souza via TKO (strike) at 3:39 in Round 1

Uros Medic def.Aaron Cruz via TKO (Strike) at 1:40 in Round 1

Trevin Jones def.Round 2: Mario Boutista via TKO (strike) at 47

– MMA Sports

Jan Blachowicz, Amanda Nunes Holds Title Jan Blachowicz, Amanda Nunes Holds Title

Back to top button