Late model extending the legacy of DIRTcar Nationals – Motorsports

The late model has enjoyed a long history at the DIRT car Nationals at Borussia Speedway Park. (Photo by Jim Denhammer)

Concord, NC-Late models are part of the action at Volusia Speedway Park and will continue to play a major role as DIRTcar Nationals’ 50th Anniversary takes stage from February 2nd to 13th.

It all started in 1968 when Benny Corbyn bought the property and opened the Barberville Speedway as a quarter-mile oval. Over the years, several transformations have converted trucks into three-eighth miles of trucks, then 0.5 miles, and paved all at once for NASCAR competition.

Since switching to the current 0.5-mile configuration, destinations in Barberville, Florida have become a national phenomenon known for high speed and high action. The DIRTcar UMP late model (February 8-9) and the World of Outlaws Morton Buildings late model series (February 10-13) are fully visible as they close their headlines for six consecutive nights alongside the Super DIRTcar series. It is its strength. DIRTcar Nationals.

Prior to the resurrection of the World of Outlaws Morton Buildings late model series in 2004, Volusia welcomed a few different sanctions agencies for carrying late model luggage at DIRTcar Nationals.

In the 1980s, the Stars Late Model Series won with icons such as Larry Moore, Jeff Purvis, Freddy Smith, and Larry Phillips. Another notable winner came in 1985 when a 27-year-old young dollar from Batesville, Ark walked into Volusia’s Victory Lane.

His name was Billy Moyer. He has become the best late model driver in DIRTcar Nationals history, winning 15 times.

Northern All Stars, ALMS, and Hav-A-Tampa appeared in the 1990s and led the next generation. Rick Eckert, Chub Frank, Jimmy Mars, Dale McDowell, Earl Pearson Jr. The final legend, such as, surpassed the function. In 1994, Scott Bloomquist took a big bite from Volusia with a series of victories. A sign of Bloomquist’s success at Barberville, the winner of 12 different DIRTcar Nationals races.

The new Millennium started in 2000 and it’s all about the late DIRTcar UMP model. Moyer and Bloomquist continued to win, but others such as Don O’Neal, Tim McCreadie and Josh Richards struck their mark.

In 2004, the World of Outlaws late model was reopened and had an immediate impact. A set of four winners of four nights kickstarted the relationship with Outlaws / Volusia, the most visited track in the history of the series.

With the 2005 DIRTcar win and an additional World of Outlaws win, Tim McCreadie became the first man to win three times later in the week. In 2008, Moyer did it himself. At that point, the record was just beginning.

Shane Clanton went one step further in 2015, winning all three World of Outlaws late model shows in half a mile and sweeping the weekend by leaving in the glorious Big Gator Championship.

You can’t go beyond that, right? Think again.

In 2019, Brandon Shepherd did something unthinkable and brought a family of five gaiters back to New Berlin, Illinois. The Rocket1Racing driver wiped out all four late model features of the World of Outlaws and took advantage of four small gaiters to go with the first big gaiters. ..

Shepherd won six consecutive Volusia races in the outlaw to open last year’s DIRTcar Nationals, from which the show was owned by Jimmy Owens and Jimmy Owens closed the week.

Since 2005, no one has claimed as many DIRTcar Nationals titles as Josh Richards, who used unparalleled consistency and 10 victories to claim four crowns. Moyer has three, and Shepherd and Clanton each have one.

Since the trophy switch in 2012, only six men have won the big golden gator.

– Brandon Shepherd (2019 & 2020)
– Shane Clanton (2015 & 2017)
– Josh Richards (2013 & 2016)
– Chris Madden (2018)
– Scott Bloomquist (2014)
– Dennis Erb Jr. (2012)

It wasn’t just Volusia veterans, as the eight first-time winners tasted the first bite of the glory of the late World of Outlaws model at DIRTcar Nationals.

Within 50 days, the next chapter will be written in the 50th anniversary of the DIRTcar Nationals milestone. Late Model Week (February 8-13) will be highlighted Monday through Tuesday with two nights of the DIRT car UMP late model, followed by a Wednesday through Saturday slate full of World of Outlaw Morton Building Late Models.

– Motorsports

Late model extending the legacy of DIRTcar Nationals Late model extending the legacy of DIRTcar Nationals

Back to top button