Meyer Shank Racing: Stronger Growth – Motorsports

When Michael Shank graduated from high school, his parents traded with him for the money he had saved for his future.

He could use it to go to college or use it to advance his racing career.

He chose the latter, bought a transporter and focused on the race.

His decision paid off, but it wasn’t the way he expected. The 54-year-old Shank has won the championship as a team owner rather than attracting attention as a driver.

With enough open-minded Shank’s willingness to learn to crawl before running and join forces with competitors to share expertise and resources, his team has the talent to attract both sponsors and investors. The flowers have bloomed in a large country supported by the factory. At the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship and the NTT IndyCar Series.

After the addition of co-owner Jim Meyer in 2018, Michael Shank Racing, now known as Meyer Shank Racing, has come a long way. Meyer is the CEO of SiriusXM.

The team also has new bargains to reflect its achievements. Last September, construction began on a $ 5 million 40,000-square-foot headquarters in Pataskala, Ohio, about 20 miles east of Columbus. The facility has both sports car and IndyCar programs.

Selected by Acura as the Factory GTD Team to debut the new Acura NSX GT3 in 2017, the team won the IMSA WeatherTech Championship for the second consecutive year in November last year.

Meyer Shank Racing has returned to prototype rank in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship this year. (IMSA photo)

The 2019 title included drivers Trent Hindman and Mariophernbacher. In collaboration with the Curb-Agajanian Performance Group, in 2020 the team won the team and driver championships at Farnbacher and Matt McMurry, as well as giving Acura the first GTD maker championship.

The championship was held after working with Honda Performance Development and a team of engineers to develop the 2019 Acura NSX “Evo” update with an upgraded aero package.

Changes have been made to the splitter, rear bumper and diffuser to improve cooling, but with limited drag and increased speed.

Starting with the 24 Hours of Daytona, the team moved to the IMSA prototype class with the Acura ARX-05DPi. Dane Cameron and Olivier Pla were full-season drivers, and AJ Allmendinger and Juan Pablo Montoya joined them for Daytona.

Last October, MSR announced that Liberty Media Corporation’s Formula One Group has made a minority investment in the team. This allowed MSR to extend the IndyCar Series program to two-car operations by driver Jak Ali Harvey and three Indy500 winners. Elio Castroneves.

Harvey is back as he did for the first time last year and will have a full season.

Castroneves will be competing in six races, including the Indianapolis 500.

This is not the first time Castroneves has driven for Michael Shank. He raced the MSR prototype at the 2007 Rolex 24 in Daytona. He should be the ideal teammate for Harvey, who will reach six Top 10 finishes in 2020 and appear ready for the breakout season.

The team will have three Dallara IndyCar chassis for the season and will open on April 18th at Barber Motorsports Park in Alabama. This includes items purchased from DragonSpeed ​​last fall.

Michael Shank Racing was born in 1989, when Shank was still a driver. He was awarded the Novice Driver of the Year in the SCCA Ohio Valley region that season. He also won the 1996 Player / Toyota Atlantic C2 Championship.

Shank ran one IndyCar race, the Las Vegas 500, at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway during the 1996-97 season, finishing 13th in Nane House Motorsport. He made one start at the Rolex 24 at Daytona as a driver before deciding to focus on team ownership in 1999.

Shank was the owner of a Sam Hornish Jr. car that won the Rookie of the Year in the series with Kenny Wilden when he finished second in the 1999 Toyota Atlantic Championship.

Shank was nominated twice as the Formula Atlantic Team Owner of the Year before deciding to devote himself to endurance sports car racing as a team owner in 2004 with Daytona Prototype drivers Oswaldo Negri Jr. and Bad Frissel. It was.

The team led the first race and won the podium in the second race.

In 2006, Shank’s team won the Utah Miller Motorsports Park and finished second overall in the Rolex 24 at Daytona Daytona Prototype class with drivers Justin Wilson, Armendinger, Negri and Mark Patterson.

The team finished eighth in points in both 2006 and 2007, with John Pugh becoming Negri’s co-driver. It’s a consistent top 10 team, even better when they won the 2012 Rolex 24 At Daytona with Allmendinger, Wilson, Pew and Negri as co-drivers.

In December 2013, Michael Shank Racing set a speed record when Colin Braun set the fastest lap recorded on the Daytona International Speedway Oval, a Daytona prototype equipped with the team’s Ford Eco Boost. A 222.971 mph, 40.364 second lap was enough to secure a place for the record book.

The effort also set records for both 10 kilometers and 10 miles from the standing start.

Click below to read more.

– Motorsports

Meyer Shank Racing: Stronger Growth Meyer Shank Racing: Stronger Growth

Back to top button