Players who win the Rookie of the Year vote in 2 years – MLB Sports

Usually, a player’s “rookie season” is referred to in the singular, but in reality, a player can qualify for a rookie in multiple years. Also, being qualified as a newcomer means taking into account the newcomer award. This year, the three newcomers were able to do something with little historical precedent. Winning Rookie of the Year votes in multiple seasons.

Rookie of the Year … Will you vote in 2 years? what? Let me explain.

According to MLB rules, a player is considered a rookie unless he has exceeded one of three potential thresholds in the previous season. They are: Call 130 at-bats or 50 innings thrown at the MLB level, or a total of 45 days on the active MLB roster prior to September 1, and start with the roster on the first day of the following year, or other iterations.

And that’s the normal season. Here we add the atypical situation surrounding the shortened 2020 season. In the ’20 season, in contrast to other seasons, MLB roster service hours were counted beyond September 1.If anything, this has eliminated more players from 2020 When Of course, the 21-year-old rookie makes sense. Given that the September 1st date did not have the same weight in such a short season. Other additional provisions? Players who won the Rookie of the Year in 2020 were not eligible to repeat as a winner in 2021, even if they were qualified because they did not exceed the rookie limits.

But nevertheless, of the 19 players who won the Rookie of the Year vote last year, or the 17 players who won the vote but didn’t win, four players still qualify as rookie this year. I kept it. We did not exceed the limits of at-bats, innings and service hours and did not win the award last year. The players are: Ryan Mountcastle, Won 1 vote last year and finished 8th in AL. Ian Anderson, Won 1 vote and finished 7th in NL. Ke’Bryan Hayes, Won 5 votes and finished in 6th place.When Sixto Sanchez, Won 1 vote and tied for 7th place.

This year, Mountcastle hit 31 home runs in the Orioles rookie record, with a batting average of .260 and an OPS of .809. His 31 Homers lead all the rookies. Wander Franco’s hamstring injury gained momentum in his award proceedings, Adolis Garcia’s season statistics weighed in the first half, and Mountcastle is a candidate to win more than just a vote. ..

Anderson missed the injured list for a while, but started 23 times and struck out 122 times, making him the third most NL rookie. He is unlikely to win the award, but the vote seems likely again. Similarly, Hayes missed time, missed more important time, and played only 92 games. But even in a limited amount of time, he is second in the above-average out majors on third base and is a count statistic. He feels less likely to vote than Mountcastle or Anderson, but it seems possible.

Sanchez hasn’t pitched at the MLB level since 20 years, so please submit all this to him for next year.

Has this happened before?

Therefore, three players were able to win the Rookie of the Year vote for the second time this year. The next logical question is-is there any precedent for this? Answer: Yes, but barely.

The Rookie of the Year Awards have existed since 1947, when Jackie Robinson won his first honor. In that span, only one player voted for the award in multiple years. To be clear, based on the above, it’s not too strange to qualify as a newcomer in multiple years. It certainly happens.But it has enough impact 2 Separate rookie stints, worthy of two votes? It’s rare. Prior to 2021, the only player to do this was Gregg Jefferies.

Jeffreys played six games in 1987 as Mets’ September call, but his vote-winning story begins the following year in 1988. He was the late August convocation of the Mets that year, playing 29 games, hitting .321 and hitting .596 long. He finished in 6th place with three votes for the NL Rookie of the Year and the victory of Reds third baseman Chris Sabo. At that time, Jeffreys had 115 career MLB at-bats. There were 109 at-bats in 1988 and 6 at-bats in 1987. And since most of his games were played after September 1, he didn’t even reach the service time limit.

The following year, the rookie qualification was still towed, and he made a roster of the opening round and played 141 games. Cubs outfielder Jerome Walton won the NL award, so he hit .258, this time with 18 votes and finished third. Another fun detail: Did you also vote for the NL Rookie of the Year in 1989? Charlie Hayes-Ke’Bryan’s father above.

Therefore, between 1988 and 1989, Jeffreys became the first and so far only player to win the Rookie of the Year vote in multiple years. However, it seems certain that at least one player, if not three, will be on the list this year.

– MLB Sports

Players who win the Rookie of the Year vote in 2 years Players who win the Rookie of the Year vote in 2 years

Back to top button