Southampton defeats Liverpool to make Premier League history – Soccer Sports

Southampton laid the Premier League history on Monday. After raising the crown, they became the first team to defeat all seven winners during the season.

Ralph Hasenhüttle’s men defeated Liverpool 1-0 at St. Mary’s and won the match for the first time since 2016, thanks to a two-minute lob against the club in front of Danny Ings.

Southampton defeated Liverpool, Manchester United, Manchester City, Blackburn Rover, Leicester City, Chelsea and Arsenal in a campaign following the title’s victory.

This looks back at the matches that make up that run.

Blackburn Rovers

Southampton sold Alan Shearer to Blackburn in 1992, and three years later, an English striker led the Rover’s to the first and only Premier League title. Next season, Blackburn finished in 7th place and Southampton avoided being demoted by a goal difference.

They claimed three key points in the survival battle on April 6, 1996, with Matt Le Tissier’s 80-minute penalty defeating Blackburn 1-0 at Dell.

Manchester United

Southampton defeated defending champion United 6-3 sensationally on October 26, 1996, and Eyalberkovich and Egil Østenstaw won the brace when Mercurial Lutisier starred again.

They also defeated the United side defending the title in 1997-98, 2000-01 and 2003-04.


The Gunners were the top dogs in 2001-02, but in November of the following season they unstacked at St. Mary’s, James Beattie scored two goals and Kolo Toure’s own goal played 3-2 in favor of Southampton. I decided.

Manchester city

Early in Mauricio Pochettino’s tenure, Southampton defeated defending champion Citi 3-1 at St. Mary’s in February 2013.

Their victory included a very sensational own goal from Gareth Barry who led a fine, careless finish in the lower right corner of the city’s net to conclude the victory. Liverpool had already dismissed Pep Guardiola’s side at that time, but they defeated City last season and won 1-0 in July.


Southampton were demoted when Chelsea won their first Premier League title under Jose Mourinho and lost both games to Bruce on the way.

However, Steven Davis, Sadio Mané and Graziano Pele won 3-1 after defeating Chelsea in October 2015 and Mourinho taking charge for the second time at Stamford Bridge.

Leicester city

The fox had remarkable success in the Premier League in 2015-16, but lost 3-0 at St. Mary’s in January 2017.

James Ward-Prows, Jay Rodriguez and Dusan Tadic have won the Premier League’s biggest wins at Southampton’s home since defeating Crystal Palace 4-1 on the final day of the previous season.


Despite Liverpool’s 16 attempts, Southampton struggled and continued to insist on a deserved victory, building history.

As a result, Hasenhüttle wept full-time, raising Saints to within four points of the Premier League leader.

– Soccer Sports

Southampton defeats Liverpool to make Premier League history Southampton defeats Liverpool to make Premier League history

Back to top button