Games

The Game Awards have a special audio description mode for the first time

Set on December 10, 2020, Game Awards 2020 will, for the first time in its history, offer a special audio description mode for the visually impaired and the visually impaired. Game Awards Geoff Keighley twitter “I’m happy to see that #The Game Awards is the first to deliver a live stream in a special audio description mode on @YouTubeGaming. Accessibility is important,” he said.

To see what this looks like, we can share with you what Ubisoft has done in games such as Assassin’s Creed Valhalla, Far Cry 6, and Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon Breakpoint.

What did you think

For audio-guided videos, the narrator explains what’s happening in a particular scene, while keeping the trailer and gameplay conversations uninterrupted.

For more information, you can see how to convert voice-to-speech throughout your video game to better understand the process that enables this important accessibility feature.

The Game Awards also include a category of accessibility innovations. This list includes The Last of Us Part 2, which stated that it set a new gold standard for accessibility earlier this year.

Best review game of 2020

The Game Awards will be held on December 10th at 4pm PT / 7pm ET / 12am GMT (December 11th), with a 30-minute pre-show just before that.

The Game Awards are already making fun of getting a new look for Dragon Age 4 and featuring presenters such as Gal Gadot, Brie Larson, Reggie Fils-Aime, and Stephen A. Smith.

Do you have any hints? Want to discuss a possible story? Please send an email to newstips@ign.com.

Adam Bankhurst is an IGN news writer. You can follow him on Twitter @AdamBankhurst And on Twitch.

https://www.ign.com/articles/the-game-awards-will-have-a-special-audio-descriptive-mode-for-the-first-time

Back to top button