Wayne Taylor Racing wins Daytona record three consecutive Rolex 24 – Motorsports

Wayne Taylor Racing has won the Rolex 24 for the third consecutive year in Daytona and has defeated some of the best racers in the world with new cars and a new lineup.

Philippeal Bukerk postponed Kamui Kobayashi Renger van der Zande (both are part of the WTR’s winning team in the last two seasons and aim to be the first winner of three consecutive Rolex races) is an overhauled Taylor team. Has won the Daytona International Speedway for the fourth time in the last five years.

Albuquerque was challenged by Van der Zande by driving the Chip Ganassi Racing Cadillac for the last 25 minutes, with punctured tires sending Van der Zande to the pits with seven minutes remaining.

Kobayashi moved up to second place, but not enough to catch Albuquerque, who finished Acura’s first overall victory in the prestigious 24-hour endurance race.

Wayne Taylor left General Motors 28 years later at the end of last season to become the Factory Acura program. He returned his eldest son Ricky to the team for refreshment, and they celebrated the overall victory as his youngest son Jordan won the class at Corvette Racing on Sunday.

“Today was probably the best day I’ve ever had,” said Wayne Taylor, equivalent to the 2017 WTR victory his two sons drove for him. , And the Wayne Taylor Racing Program won overall.

“It was a very special day for my family.”

Wayne Taylor takes ownership of his new car-the Acura used Roger Penske We closed the team at the end of last season, in November, and needed it every day to prepare for Daytona during the off-season. He replaced the entire lineup with newcomers Albuquerque and Acura’s holdover Ricky Taylor. Elio Castroneves And Alexander Rossi..

For the last three seasons of Team Penske and Taylor, the entire trio wanted to drive Acura and help it make the transition.

“I had a whole new car with a whole new engine and a whole new partnership, so I thought I needed something consistent, so I hired the same driver as Roger,” Wayne Taylor said. ..

This was the fourth Rolex victory in five years at WTR, following Ganassi’s record six victories, and the fifth overall victory. Three consecutive victories tie the Ganassi mark.

This is Castroneves and Rossi’s first Rolex and has won the Indianapolis 500 four times. Albuquerque won the 2018 Cadillac driving. Ricky Taylor won the Cadillac of his father’s team in 2017.

This is the first Rolex for Castroneves and Rossi. Albuquerque won the Cadillac driving in 2018, and Ricky Taylor won the Cadillac in 2017 for his father’s team.

Ricky Taylor, who finished the 2017 Rolex WTR victory, was able to finish the race behind the car, but the Portuguese driver was able to rest and tackle track conditions such as increased wind speed. I decided to hand it over to Albuquerque. ..

“We decided we wanted the freshest people in the car,” said Ricky Taylor. “He went in there, was an absolute monster, and finally carried it.”

The victory was Cadillac’s four-year winning streak. Cadillac finished second in Action Express All-Star cars, including seven NASCAR champions. Jimmie Johnson..Kobayashi carried luggage for the Action Express lineup, including the Indianapolis 500 winner Simon Pagenaud Le Mans 24 Hours winner Mike Rockenfeller.

When Taylor switched to Acura, he released driver Van der Zande. He was grabbed by Ganassi when the team returned to the sports car race after a year of hiatus. Kobayashi wasn’t held by the WTR due to an endurance event, so he signed on to Daytona on Action Express, and former teammates Kobayashi and Van der Zande are fighting to be the first winning drivers in three consecutive Rolex races. I did.

The Dutch driver closed the previous team many times in the last 25 minutes, but was unable to pass the lead and was eliminated when the tire punctured.

“I could see his eyes in the mirror,” Albuquerque said of Van der Zande. “He was very hungry for this, especially throughout the story of leaving Wayne Taylor. They were lucky to get a flat tire.”

The Ganassi team was hit by a flat tire within two hours of the six IndyCar Champions. Scott Dixon I was driving and also overcame two penalties from newcomers Kevin Magnussen, Spent the last 7 seasons in F1. The team fell to 5th place.

“It was absolutely wiped out,” Magnussen said. “It seemed like I won the race on the spot. The ranger was very good at catching car 10 and I think he really had a chance to win the race.”

Jordan Taylor, the youngest son of the winning team owner, was also a GT Le Mans class winner. The winning lineup included Nicky Catsburg and Antonio Garcia, who were pulled by General Motors, with seven hours remaining on the COVID-19 test.

Garcia was tested over the weekend of the race, so he was able to return to Spain after Rolex. He drove for almost eight hours in the race and finally got in the car on Sunday morning.

“The protocol we have is so serious that even after 24 hours the driver can’t really interact. Antonio, I met him before the race. That was the last. And we Is always socially distant and always adopts the correct protocol.

“Surface-to-ground missiles wear gloves, balaclavas and helmets inside the car, so there is no danger inside the car.”

Motorsport of the era won the Le Mans Prototype 2 class with the Oreca LMP2. Riley Motorsport has won the Le Mans Prototype 3 class with the Ligier JSP 320. Winward Racing of the Mercedes AMG GT3 won the GT Daytona class. The GT Daytona class had 20 entries and was the largest class of the 49 cars in the field.

– Motorsports

Wayne Taylor Racing wins Daytona record three consecutive Rolex 24 Wayne Taylor Racing wins Daytona record three consecutive Rolex 24

Back to top button