Who were the saints and sinners of F1’s 2020 penalty point system? | F1 News – Motorsports

Formula 1 drivers give everything to finish at the highest possible level in the official World Championship rankings, but there is one point table they don’t want to be on top.

Since 2014, F1 has introduced a penalty point system, and if a rule is violated, the driver’s super license will be approved.

If a driver scores 12 points in 12 months, he will automatically face a one-race ban.

The 2020 season has seen a remarkable turnaround for drivers who started this year as unofficial bad boys in the penalty point rankings.

Sebastian Vettel gave his name seven penalty points in 2020, but ended the year without any points.

The same was not true for this year’s penalty point leader, Alex Albon. The Red Bull driver scored 7 points during the season and landed on the top of the mountain.

They were distributed at Silverstone (collision with Kevin Magnussen), Monza (pressing Romain Grosjean hard), Sochi (accidentally driving around the bollard), and Nürburgring (collision with Daniil Kvyat). ..

But Albon wouldn’t have been on top if world champion Lewis Hamilton hadn’t removed two points. After changing mind from FIA at the Russian Grand Prix..

Mercedes drivers were initially given two penalty points for starting practice in an unauthorized position. It left him, who was temporarily on the verge of a race ban until subsequent points reached their 12-month expiration date and were wiped out at the Turkish Grand Prix.

Without these extra two points, Hamilton would have finished the year with six points in the same second spot as George Russell.

Four of Hamilton’s points were earned in the opening round of the Austrian Grand Prix when he was punished for not being fast enough to put out the yellow flag in qualifying and collided with Albon in the race.

Hamilton’s other two points were controversial. He picked them up in Monza after entering the pit lane. The pit lane was closed as Magnussen’s Haas was removed from the side of the truck. The associated penalty eventually cost him his victory at the Italian Grand Prix.

Russell has been penalized only twice this year, but has scored three points each in Silverstone and Istanbul for ignoring the yellow and double yellow flags.

Lando Norris, who finished the 2020 season with 5 points, was ranked fourth overall on the 2020 list.

The list of drivers who did not score points last season has increased. In 2019, only two drivers were able to run a completely clean campaign, but in 2020, eight drivers evaded sanctions.

This included Mercedes driver Valtteri Bottas. Valtteri Bottas has been clean for the second year in a row as he had already lost points in 2019.

Max Verstappen (Red Bull), Pierre Guthrie (Alpha Tauri) and Nicholas Latifie (Williams) also had no penalty points, and substitute drivers Nico Hulkenberg (Racing Point), Pietro Fittipaldi (Haas) and Jack Eightken (Haas). Williams) evaded sanctions. With their cameo appearance.

The current points will be incorporated into the new season and will expire exactly one year later.

The next round of points to be removed will come in early July (when the 2020 season begins). If the currently planned 2021 calendar goes unchanged, there will be 10 races before that date.

– Motorsports

Who were the saints and sinners of F1’s 2020 penalty point system? | F1 News Who were the saints and sinners of F1’s 2020 penalty point system? | F1 News

Back to top button