Who were the saints and sinners of F1’s penalty point system? – Motorsports

Since the start of 2014, F1 has introduced a penalty point system, and if a rule is violated, the driver’s super license will be approved.

If a driver scores 12 points in 12 months, he will automatically face a one-race ban.

The 2020 season has seen a remarkable turnaround for drivers who started this year as unofficial bad boys in the penalty point rankings.

Sebastian Vettel arrived in 2020 with seven penalty points on his name, but this year ended because no points were given to the saints during the course of the campaign.

The same wasn’t true for this year’s penalty point leader Alex Albon, who realized he was at the top of the mountain after scoring 7 points during the season.

They were distributed at Silverstone (collision with Magnussen), Monza (pressing Grosjean hard), Sochi (accidentally driving around the bollard), and Nürburgring (collision with Kubiat).

Without world champion Lewis, Albon wouldn’t have been at the top. Hamilton with 2 points removed After a change of heart from the FIA ​​at the Russian Grand Prix.

Mercedes drivers were initially given two penalty points for starting practice in an unauthorized position. It left him, who was temporarily on the verge of a race ban until subsequent points reached their 12-month expiration date and were wiped out at the Turkish Grand Prix.

Without these extra two points, Hamilton would have finished the year with six points in the same second spot as George Russell.

Four of Hamilton’s points were earned in the opening round of the Austrian Grand Prix when he was punished for not being fast enough to put out the yellow flag in qualifying and collided with Albon in the race.

Hamilton’s other two points were quite controversial. He picked them up in Monza after Kevin Magnussen’s Haas entered the closed pit lane because he was removed from the side of the course. The associated penalty eventually cost him his victory at the Italian Grand Prix.

Read again:

George Russell has been penalized only twice this year, but has been severely punished. Ignoring the yellow and double yellow flags gives 3 points each in Silverstone and Istanbul.

Fourth overall on the 2020 list was Lando Norris, another British driver who finished the 2020 season with five points.

The list of drivers who did not score points last season has increased. In 2019, only two drivers were able to run a completely clean campaign, but in 2020, eight drivers evaded sanctions.

This included Barteribotta (Mercedes), who had already lost points in 2019 and remained blank for the second consecutive year.

Also, Vetter (Ferrari), Max Verstappen (Red Bull), Pierre Guthrie (Alpha Tauri), Nicholas Latifie (Williams), Nico Hulkenberg (Racing Point), Pietro Fittipaldi (Haas), Jack Eightken (Williams) without points. did.

The current points will be incorporated into the new season and will expire exactly one year later.

This only happens when 12 points are scored, so no driver is at risk of being banned. However, drivers should be careful not to pick up violations early in the 2021 campaign.

The next point to be removed is the beginning of July (when the 2020 season begins), which means that if the currently planned 2021 calendar does not change, there will be 10 races before that date.

Related Videos

– Motorsports

Who were the saints and sinners of F1’s penalty point system? Who were the saints and sinners of F1’s penalty point system?

Back to top button