Winners of the 2020 Golden Joystick Awards announced

The wait is finally over as the results of the 38th Golden Joystick Awards were released live tonight via Twitch, YouTube, Facebook and GamesRadar at 12.30 PST / 15.30EST and 20.30 GMT. The Golden Joystick Awards honor the best video games of the year. The event was first held in 1983 and has since grown into the world’s largest publicly-voted game award brand.

More than 3 million votes were cast to determine the winners in 20 categories. Four critic choice awards were also revealed at night. The show was hosted by Marvel’s Avengers Thor’s voice, Travis Willingham, and Marvel’s Avengers’ Last of Us Part II, Abbey’s voice and Black Widow. The event featured the musical performances of Harry Mack and Lara 6683, as well as the appearance of celebrities in the gaming world.

The winners of the 2020 Golden Joystick Awards are:

  • Best Storytelling: The Last Us Part II
  • The best multiplayer game: Fall Guys
  • Best Visual Design: The Last of Us Part II
  • Best game expansion: No Man’s Sky: Origins
  • Mobile Games of the Year: Lego Builder Journey
  • Best Audio: The Last of Us Part II
  • The best indie game: Hades
  • Still playing: Minecraft
  • Studio of the Year: Naughty Dog
  • Esports Game of the Year: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare
  • Best New Streamer / Broadcaster: iamBrandon
  • Best Family Games: Fall Guys
  • Best Gaming Community: Minecraft
  • Best Performer: Sandra Sard (Critique Choice)
  • Breakthrough Prize: Among us (critic choice)
  • Hall of Fame: Team17 / Worm (Critique Choice)
  • PC Game of the Year: Death Stranding
  • Best gaming hardware: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080
  • PlayStation Game of the Year: Last of Us Part II
  • Xbox Game of the Year: Ori and the Will of the Wisps
  • Nintendo Game of the Year: Animal Crossing: New Horizons
  • Most Wanted Game: Next God of War Game
  • Critic’s Choice Award: Hades (Critic’s Choice)
  • Ultimate Game of the Year: Last of Us Part II

Daniel Dawkins, GamesRadar + Games and Film Content Director, said:

“Thanks to all the developers, publishers, performers and broadcasters for enabling this year’s Virtual Awards Ceremony. Join us from your home or office around the world. Play the game in this difficult year. I am truly humble to everyone who worked hard to create and release, and to everyone who gathered around the Golden Joystick Awards.

“Finally, the biggest thanks are to the millions of game fans who played and voted for this year’s picks. This year, more than ever, the game connects people and requires more escapism and empowerment. We have celebrated the people who have been making games for 38 years, and we have never felt that it is so important to acknowledge their achievements together. “

If you enjoy games and games and want more news from the game world, here

The 2020 Golden Joystick Award Winners Announced

Back to top button