Year-end awards: 2020 Prospect of the Year, Comeback of the Year, Worst Scorecard, etc. – Boxing Sports

Boxing News Awards for 2020 Prospect of the Year, Comeback of the Year, Worst Scorecard, Most Improved, Journeyman of the Year

2020 Award Outlook:

Vergil Ortiz Junior [above]– 22-year-old Texas set his perfect record by knocking out Samuel Bergus in the seventh round. All 16 of the exciting welterweight wins have come a long way.

Honorable Mention
Daniyar Yeleussnov; Chris Colbert; Edgar Berlanga; Tim Chu; Filip Hrgović; Israil Madrimov; Michel Rivera; Tony Yoka; Connaven; Ali Izmailov; Sebastian Hundra; Richardson Hitchins; Charles Conwell; Gongora.

2020 Comeback of the Year Awards:

Errol Spence Jr.
Spence has returned from a horrific car accident in October 2019. Initially in the intensive care unit, he unanimously decided on former two-weight world champion Danny Garcia to defend the WBC and IBF welterweight titles.

Worst scorecard for 2020
Like last year, another worrisomely long list

James Kinney ridiculously scored Jesse Hart as the 95-94 winner over Joe Smith Jr. Rudy Barragan (100-89), Max DeLuca (99-90) and Chris Migliore (97-92) make Alexis Rocha a much wider winner than Brad Solomon. Dave Moretti marked the Joshua Greer Jr.-Mike Plania match as a 94-94 draw, but Plania clearly seemed to win. Giovani Santilan is fortunate to be able to lead Antonio DeMarco to a majority vote, thanks to two scores from 96-94 from Tim Chisam and Steve Weissfeld. Zak Chelli appears to be a comfortable winner against Jack Cullen, but with Victor Loughlin (96-95 to Cullen) and Ian John-Lewis (95-95) cards, he needs to settle into a split draw. had. Jack Culcay seems to have been fortunate to get a split nod to Abbas Barao, based on the aggregates of Iko Bevic (115-114) and Peter Milord (115-113). The 117-111 scorecard that causes the astonishment of Lou Moret, who favors Abel Ramos over Yordenis Ugas. Don Torrera somehow makes Kovia Breedy a 115-111 winner over Tsugssogtonyanbayar. John Hedges won a lucky 39-37 victory over Jan Ardon from Ian John Lewis. Rudy Barragan posted a too wide 100-90 tab in favor of Mark Magsayo against Rigobert Hermoshiro. Julie Rudermann won Theofimo Lopez as a very wide 119-109 winner against Vasyl Lomachenko. Luis Littson won the split verdict over Miguel Vázquez, Michael Alexander scored 115-113, and Terry O’Connor handed the mysterious 117-111 card. [above]Fernando Villarreal has determined Elwin Soto to be the overly wide 119-109 winner against Carlos Buitrago. Marlen Espaza scored an overly generous 80-72 score from Rudy Barragan and Lou More in the fight against Syrmia Urbina. Ian John-Lewis mysteriously notched the chambolic 117-111 scorecard in favor of Anthony Yard against Lindon Arthur. Florian Marc had to draw 76-76 (from Marcus McDonnell) against Jamie Stewart, even though he knocked down his opponent and looked like a winner. Don Ackerman strangely recorded that Richardson Hitchins-Argenis Mendez fought for Mendez by 1997-93. John Rupert marks John Ryder as being too close to the 96-94 winner against Mike Guy. Don Trera (116-112) and John McKay (115-113) posted a mysterious card in favor of Reymart Gavaro against Emmanuel Rodriguez, giving Gavaro a controversial split decision victory. It was.

The most improved fighters of 2020:

Joe Smith Jr.; Maxi Hughes [below]Ionut Baluta; Petros Ananyan; Vladimir Hernandez; Robeisi Ramirez; Brad Foster; Joseph Diaz; Joshua Franco; Robin Krasniki; Conaven; Umar Sadiq; Isaac Avelar; Jermaine Brown; Lylan Charlton; Craig Richards; Jordan Gil; Sam Maxwell; Luis Crocker; Katelyn Ferrand; Isaac Cruz Gonzalez; Arslan Magomedov; Rachel Ball; Densel Bentley; Fabio Wardley; Liam Dabies; Petchmany CP Fresh Mart; Lourdes Huares; Gamal Yafai; Sebastian Hundra; Tomoko Okuda; Damian Bonelli.

Maxi fuse

Journeyman in 2020:

Ed Harrison; Stu Greener; Nathan Hardy; Alexander Zeredon; Chris Jenkinson.

Lion Hearts in 2020:

With a bloody, swollen face, Jay Harris made a brave effort in a foreign land against Julio Cesar Martinez as the first step towards world class. The marked-up December Spellman plundered Lindon Arthur, despite being extremely courageous and regularly leaning his head back. Katie Taylor and Delfine Persoon go to war again in a rematch and suffer serious facial damage again. Samil Ziani and Alex Dilmagani participate in a tough encounter full of courage, determination and non-stop action. Jose Zepeda and Ivan Baranchyk share eight knockdowns (four each) in a five-round burn burner. Juan Francisco Estrada and Carlos Cuadras bruised and lined everything up in front and back thrillers. Miriam Gutierrez bravely absorbed the lasting punishment from Katie Taylor and finished all 10 rounds.

Hero of 2020:

Claressa Shields became a 3-weight world champion in just 10 battles. This is faster than any other male or female fighter in history. Various people raising funds for a ringside rest and care home for ex-boxers. Boxing paramedic Ged Carroll is at the forefront of the coronavirus pandemic. Joseph Parker provided the coveted Comic Relief during the blockade by COVID-19 in his humorous social media video. Vidal Riley has an impressive job with the Teenage Cancer Trust. Vince McNally was awarded an MBE for servicing the Hereford community. Collin Jones has been awarded an MBE for service to boxing in Wales. The Mosside Fire Department Boxing Club and Empire Fighting Opportunity carry out valuable community activities.

Drug controversy:

Alexander Jagiellon; Eve Gab; Alejandr Jimenez; Jarrell Miller.

Retirement in 2020:

Scott Cardle; Frankie Gavin; Thomas Stalker; Tommy Coil; William Warburton; Lee Haskins; Scott Quigg; Johnny Garton; Oleksandr Gvozdyk; Danny Williams; Geoff Thomas; Juan Manuel Lopez; Dave Allen; Tom Little; Ashrite Ofane.

– Boxing Sports

Year-end awards: 2020 Prospect of the Year, Comeback of the Year, Worst Scorecard, etc. Year-end awards: 2020 Prospect of the Year, Comeback of the Year, Worst Scorecard, etc.

Back to top button